Not Your Mum, Not Your Milk

In the most recent podcast from Animal Voices, author, vegan, and animal activist Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson shares a story about a time he visited a dairy farm.

image courtesy For the Animals Sanctuary image courtesy For the Animals Sanctuary

“I went to UC Davis to visit the dairy farm there, and a woman graduate student, who was pregnant, was taking me and my family through the facility. And I heard this crying.

I said, ‘Oh, what’s that?’

And the student responded, ‘Oh, that’s the calf who’s been taken from her mother. She’s crying and she wants to go back.’

And there was the mother cow, crying as well, and they were talking to each other, basically saying, ‘I want my baby, I want my mommy.’

‘Is that what they’re saying?’ I asked her.

‘Oh yes, definitely.’

I said, ‘Let me ask you this. How do you, as a pregnant woman, feel about doing this to this…

View original post 181 more words

Leave a Reply

